FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Do you still have questions? Your questions about the course will be answered here by the programme director, lecturers and other students. Simply click on the question or video to get more information.
How do we make sure that the students stay on the ball?
What are the special features of the Online Master course?
Am I not forced to rely too much on myself with online study?
How do you visualise the online course?
Will I cope with the course as well as my job and family life?
Will only the Freiburg school of thought be taught in the course?
What is special about the course for me as a lecturer?
HOW LONG DOES THE MASTER’S TAKE?
The course takes a total of six semesters or three years.
HOW MANY FACE-TO-FACE TEACHING SESSIONS ARE THERE AND WHERE DO THESE TAKE PLACE?
There are a total of eight face-to-face teaching sessions that are spread across the entire course – this translates to 2–3 sessions each year. Most of these face-to-face teaching sessions last 2–3 days and usually take place on the weekends. All sessions are conducted in the facilities of the University Hospital Freiburg.
WHAT ARE THE BENEFITS OF THE MINIMAL FACE-TO-FACE CONTACT?
The minimal face-to-face contact means that you save travel and accommodation costs and also spend less time away from your surgery than you would if your course were completely face-to-face.
WILL I LEARN JUST AS MUCH AS I WOULD WITH A FULLY FACE-TO-FACE COURSE?
Because of our innovative teaching concept, you learn at least as much as you would if your course were completely face-to-face. To acquire the theoretical foundations, you do not have to come to Freiburg – you learn this material using a range of digital teaching media as well as the virtual classroom. In the meantime, you are also given the best possible specialist and organisational support from our teletutors. The face-to-face teaching sessions are reserved in this course for practising practical skills.
CAN THE INDIVIDUAL MODULES BE CREDITED TOWARDS THE COMPLETE MASTER’S COURSE?
If you decide later to do the complete Master’s, any individual modules that you have previously completed are very easily credited.
IS THE COURSE ACCREDITED?
The course was accredited with no conditions on 26 September 2007 by ACQUIN and was the first online course for periodontology accredited in Germany. On 26 June 2013 the course was re-accredited with no conditions for a further six years.
WHAT DOES THE MASTER’S COURSE COST?
The Master’s course costs a total of €29,000 and is generally paid in six-monthly instalments.
WHAT EXAMINATIONS ARE PART OF THE COURSE?
The examinations that are part of the course are mostly written tests (multiple choice questions) and practical exercises during the face-to-face sessions. To gain your Master’s degree, you must also write a Master’s thesis, prepare six written patient cases and sit an oral examination.
WHAT IS A VIRTUAL CLASSROOM?
Every second Monday evening we meet with our students in the virtual classroom where the students can talk with the teletutors, the lecturers and other students. Patient cases are often presented and discussed in the virtual classroom and specialist presentations by renowned experts complete the teaching session.

The conference software with integrated audio and video support that is used for these sessions enables lecturers to deliver online presentations and students can work through and discuss material interactively. The software is logical and user friendly.
DO THE STUDENTS HAVE PERSONAL CONTACT WITH EACH OTHER?
The personal contact between the students is very good because they not only meet one another during the face-to-face sessions in Freiburg but every second week they meet in the virtual classroom as well as for any joint tasks in group projects.
HOW MUCH TIME DOES THE COURSE REQUIRE?
Students need to spend about 6–10 hours a week studying.
IS THE MASTER’S COURSE ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE?
No, the course is not solely online. Only the theoretical foundations are taught online using digital teaching media and regular virtual meetings. Practical skills are taught and consolidated on site in the facilities of the University Hospital Freiburg.
DO I NEED SPECIAL TECHNICAL KNOWLEDGE AND EQUIPMENT?
Although operating the technical components is very intuitive and simple, you require basic knowledge of how to use computers and the internet to complete the course. The technical components must also be available to you at all times. The internet connection speed must be at least DSL 6000. To take part in the online teaching sessions you also need a headset and a DSL cable connection.
IS THE MASTER’S DEGREE RECOGNISED INTERNATIONALLY?
Yes, when you have completed the course you will have an internationally recognised Master of Science.
CAN OTHER CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAMMES THAT I HAVE COMPLETED BE CREDITED?
For graduates of a certified periodontology or implant dentistry course, the fee is reduced by €5000.

REGISTER FOR OUR NEWSLETTER

REBEKKA BALSAM

Universitätsklinikum für Zahn-, Mund- und Kieferheilkunde

Hugstetter Straße 55
79095 Freiburg

Tel +49 (0)761. 270 – 472 90
Fax +49 (0)761. 270 – 473 90
rebekka.balsam@uniklinik-freiburg.de

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Sie haben noch Fragen? Hier werden Ihre Fragen rund um den Studiengang von der Studiengangsleiterin, Referenten und auch Teilnehmern beantwortet. Klicken Sie hierfür einfach auf die Fragen bzw. Videos für weitere Informationen.
Wie schaffen wir es, dass die Teilnehmer/Innen am Ball bleiben?
Was sind die Besonderheiten des MasterOnline-Studiengangs?
Bin ich im Online-Studium nicht zu sehr auf mich selbst gestellt?
Wie kann man sich das Online-Studium vorstellen?
Bewältige ich den Studiengang neben Beruf und Familie?
Wird im Studiengang nur die Freiburger Lehrmeinung vermittelt?
Was ist für mich als Referent das Besondere am Studiengang?
WIE LANGE DAUERT DAS MASTERSTUDIUM?
Das Studium dauert insgesamt sechs Semester, also drei Jahre.
WIE VIELE PRÄSENZVERANSTALTUNGEN GIBT ES UND WO FINDEN DIESE STATT?
Insgesamt gibt es acht Präsenzveranstaltungen, die sich über das gesamte Studium erstrecken – das bedeutet 2-3 Veranstaltungen pro Jahr. Die meisten Veranstaltungen dauern 2-3 Tage und finden vornehmlich an den Wochenenden statt. Sämtliche Veranstaltungen finden in den Räumen der Uniklinik Freiburg statt.
WELCHE VORTEILE ERGEBEN SICH DURCH DIE GERINGEN PRÄSENZZEITEN?
Durch die geringen Präsenzzeiten sparen Sie Reise- und Übernachtungskosten und haben außerdem weniger Praxisausfall als in einem reinen Präsenzstudiengang.
LERNE ICH GENAUSO VIEL WIE BEI EINEM REINEN PRÄSENZSTUDIENGANG?
Aufgrund unseres innovativen didaktischen Konzepts lernen Sie mindestens genauso viel wie bei einem reinen Präsenzstudiengang. Für den Erwerb der theoretischen Grundlagen müssen Sie nicht extra nach Freiburg kommen – Dieser findet online mithilfe verschiedener digitaler Lehrmedien sowie „Virtueller Klassenzimmer“ statt. Währenddessen werden Sie zudem bestens fachlich und organisatorisch von unseren Teletutoren betreut. Die Präsenzzeiten sind bei uns reserviert für das Üben praktischer Fähigkeiten.
KANN ICH MIR DIE EINZELMODULE AUF DAS KOMPLETTE MASTERSTUDIUM ANRECHNEN LASSEN?
Wenn Sie sich später noch entscheiden, den kompletten Master zu absolvieren, lassen sich die zuvor belegten Einzelmodule ganz einfach anrechnen.
IST DER STUDIENGANG AKKREDITIERT?
Der Studiengang wurde am 26.09.2007 von der Firma ACQUIN ohne Auflagen akkreditiert und war der erste in Deutschland akkreditierte Online-Studiengang im Bereich Parodontologie. Am 26. Juni 2013 wurde der Studiengang erneut ohne Auflagen für weitere sechs Jahre reakkreditiert.
WAS KOSTET DER MASTERSTUDIENGANG?
Der Masterstudiengang kostet insgesamt 29.000 Euro und wird in der Regel in halbjährlichen Raten bezahlt.
WELCHE PRÜFUNGEN SIND BESTANDTEIL DES STUDIUMS?
Die studienbegleitenden Prüfungen bestehen vorwiegend aus Klausuren (Multiple-Choice-Fragen) sowie praktischen Übungen während der Präsenzzeiten. Um den Masterabschluss zu erlangen, müssen Sie zudem eine Masterarbeit schreiben, sechs Patientenfälle schriftlich aufbereiten und eine mündliche Prüfung absolvieren.
WAS IST EIN VIRTUELLES KLASSENZIMMER?
Jeden zweiten Montagabend treffen sich unsere Studierenden im "Virtuellen Klassenzimmer", wobei sie sich mit den Teletutoren, mit den Referenten und auch untereinander austauschen können. Oft werden hierbei auch gegenseitig Patientenfälle vorgestellt und diskutiert, zusätzlich runden fachliche Vorträge namhafter Dozenten die Veranstaltung ab.
Dabei wird eine Konferenzsoftware mit integrierter Audio- und Videounterstützung eingesetzt, mithilfe derer online Vorträge gehalten, Inhalte interaktiv bearbeitet und diskutiert werden können. Die Bedienung ist verständlich und benutzerfreundlich.
WIE IST DER PERSÖNLICHE KONTAKT ZWISCHEN DEN STUDIERENDEN?
Der persönliche Kontakt zwischen den Studierenden ist sehr gut, da sich die Teilnehmenden nicht nur während der Präsenzphasen in Freiburg begegnen, sondern auch alle zwei Wochen während der stattfindenden "Virtuellen Klassenzimmer" sowie der gemeinsamen Arbeit an Gruppenaufgaben.
WIE HOCH IST DER ZEITLICHE AUFWAND DES STUDIUMS?
Der zeitliche Aufwand beträgt wöchentlich ca. 6-10 Stunden.
IST DER MASTERSTUDIENGANG NUR ONLINE?
Nein, der Studiengang ist nicht nur online. Lediglich der Erwerb der theoretischen Grundlagen findet online mithilfe verschiedener digitaler Lehrmedien und regelmäßiger virtueller Treffen statt. Die Einübung praktischer Fähigkeiten wird vor Ort, in den Räumen der Uniklinik Freiburg, trainiert.
BENÖTIGE ICH SPEZIELLE TECHNISCHE KENNSTNISSE UND AUSSTATTUNG?
Obwohl die Bedienung der technischen Komponenten sehr intuitiv und simpel ist, benötigen Sie für das Studium Grundkenntnisse im Umgang mit dem PC und Internet. Auch sollten diese Komponenten uneingeschränkt für Sie erreichbar sein. Die Kapazität der Internetverbindung muss mindestens DSL 6000 betragen. Für die Durchführung der Online-Veranstaltungen benötigen Sie ferner ein Headset und eine DSL-Kabelverbindung.
IST DER MASTER-ABSCHLUSS INTERNATIONAL ANERKANNT?
Ja, bei Abschluss des Studiums erhalten Sie den international anerkannten Abschluss Master of Science.
GIBT ES MÖGLICHKEITEN DER ANRECHNUNG BEREITS ABSOLVIERTER WEITERBILDUNGEN?
Für Absolventen eines zertifizierten Curriculums Parodontologie oder Implantologie ermäßigt sich die Gebühr um 5.000 Euro.

ANMELDUNG FÜR UNSEREN NEWSLETTER

contbutt

ANGELIQUE PRESSE

Universitätsklinikum für Zahn-, Mund- und Kieferheilkunde

Hugstetter Straße 55
79095 Freiburg

Tel +49 (0)761. 270 – 472 90
Fax +49 (0)761. 270 – 473 90
angelique.presse@uniklinik-freiburg.de